Chemistry Division

Legal Organs

Scientific Committees

Head of Division : March 2018 - March 2022*

Prof. Pierre Braunstein - France


Since Sept. 2014, Pierre Braunstein is CNRS Emeritus Research Director and « Professeur conventionné » at the University of Strasbourg (Institute of Chemistry, UMR 7177 CNRS). His main research interests lie in the inorganic and organometallic chemistry of the transition and main group elements, where he has (co)authored over 500 scientific publications and review articles. He has received numerous national and international awards and he is also a member of the French Académie des Sciences, the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina and the Academia Europaea and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

*Extension of the mandate until March 2024 approved

Officer : March 2019 - March 2023 *


Paul Raithby is a Professor of Inorganic and Structural Chemistry at the University of Bath. He is a Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences (EURASC) and of the Royal Society of Chemistry. He was awarded the RSC Corday Morgan Medal in 1988 and the RSC Prize for Structural Chemistry in 2008. He has been President of the British Crystallographic Association and has sat on the IUCr Commission for Structural Chemistry. He has published over 860 refereed research papers, with a current h-index of 62. He has given over 100 lectures at international meetings during his career. His current research focusses on coordination chemistry, the development of the chemistry of platinum poly-ynes as sensor materials, and he has pioneered the development of time-resolved crystallographic techniques for determining the structures of crystalline, excited state complexes with millisecond lifetimes.

*Extension of the mandate until March 2024 approved

Officer : March 2019 - March 2023*

Prof. Joao Rocha - Portugal


João Rocha is a Professor of Inorganic and Materials Chemistry at the University of Aveiro, and Director of the Aveiro Institute of Materials-CICECO. He is a Fellow of EurASc, Lisbon Academy of Sciences, Royal Society of Chemistry, and ChemPubSoc Europe. He received the Madinabeitia-Lourenço award (Real Sociedad Española de Química), the prize Ferreira da Silva (Portuguese Chemical Society), and the prize for Scientific Excellence from the Portuguese Science Foundation. He was a member of the National Science and Technology Council. He headed the IUCr Commission on Inorganic and Mineral Structures. He has published over 510 refereed research papers with ca. 17,000 citations (h-index 62) and 4 patents; gave over 200 talks at conferences; supervised 40 post-docs and 25 PhDs. His main research interests encompass microporous transition metal and lanthanide silicates, photoluminescent Ln-materials, and Metal Organic Frameworks for sensing, including nanothermometry; nanosystems for multimodal imaging; solid-state NMR and X-ray diffraction.

*Extension of the mandate until March 2024 approved

Officer : March 2018 - March 2022*

Prof. Hans-Joachim Freund - Germany


Hans-Joachim Freund is a scientific member and Professor Emeritus at the Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft in Berlin. He serves as Adjunct Professor at five universities in Germany and UK. He received the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Award of the German Science Foundation (DFG) and the Karl-Ziegler-Award of the German Chemical Society. In 2012, Hajo Freund was awarded the Blaise Pascal Medal in Material Science of the European Academy of Sciences and several other destinctiones from around the world. He is a regular member of the Chemical Sciences Section of the Academia Europea, the Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften, the Academia Brasileira de Ciencias, the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, the Chemical section of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Hajo Freund holds three honorary Doctorates. He is Fellow of several scientific societies. Hajo Freund is a founding member of the Scientific Council of the European Research Council.

*Extension of the mandate until March 2024 approved

Officer : March 2019 - March 2023*

Prof. Marta Catellani - Italy


Marta Catellani was awarded a Doctorate (Italian Laurea) in Chemistry in 1971 from the University of Parma, where she later became Full Professor at the Department of Chemistry. She spent several periods as associate or visiting professor in various academic research centers abroad. She is corresponding member of the Italian Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei and Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences. She has developed her researches in organic synthesis focusing on multicomponent organo-palladium reactions via C–H activation. In this area she has discovered and developed an innovative synthetic methodology, which allows the formation of several bonds in a single operation. This procedure has had great impact on organic synthesis because it allows the highly selective formation of complex molecules starting from a pool of simple precursors.

*Extension of the mandate until March 2024 approved