Committees > Executive Committee

Legal Organs

Scientific Committees

President : March 2020 - March 2023*

Professor Rodrigo Martins - Portugal


Rodrigo Ferrão de Paiva Martins is Full Professor and head of Materials Science Department at Faculty of Science and Technology of New University of Lisbon, director of the Centre of Excellence in Microelectronics and Optoelectronics Processes of the Institute of New Technologies, CEMOP/Uninova; Head of the group of Materials for Electronics, Optoelectronics and Nanotechnologies (MEON) of the Research Materials Center of the Institute for Nanostructures, Nanomodeling and Nanofabrication, CENIMAT/I3N; Chair of The European Committee Affairs of European Materials Research Society; Chair of The Global Leadership and Service Award Committee and first vice president of the International Union of Materials Research Societies, IUMRS; member of the Portuguese Academy of Engineering and of the Portuguese Order of Engineers; Chair of the BMC Materials series from Springer nature group.

*Extension of the mandate until March 2024 approved

Vice-President : March 2018 - March 2023*

Prof. Alain Tressaud - France


Alain Tressaud is Emeritus Research Director of the CNRS at Bordeaux (France). He is member of several Academies and Societies: EASA, Austria; WSSET, UK; Disting. Fellow SCF, France. He founded and chaired until 2008 the French Network on Fluorine Chemistry, sponsored by CNRS. He received several awards, including the Atomic Centre Agency Award of French Academy of Sciences (2008), Fluorine Award of the American Chemical Society (2011), and International Henri Moissan Prize (2013). His major research fields are Solid State Chemistry & Materials Science, Fluorine chemistry, and Modification of the surface properties of materials. His scientific production includes more than 370 papers in international journals, 20 chapter’s contributions in books and 12 internationalized patents. In addition, he edited 10 books, including the book “Fluorine , a Paradoxical Element” (2019) and the Editorship of the book series: “Advances in Fluorine Science” (2006) and “Progress in Fluorine Science” (2015-) at Elsevier. The Proceedings of the EurASc Ceremony held in Brussels in 2016 have appeared in the book “Progress in Science, Progress in Society”, edited in 2018 at Springer-Nature.

*Extension of the mandate until March 2024 approved

Member : June 2023 - March 2024

Prof. Daniel Scherman - France


Daniel Scherman is a French molecular biologist and neuropharmacologist, specialist in biotherapy and biomedical imaging. Scherman’s initial research focused on bioenergetics, neuropharmacology and neurodegenerative diseases, in particular the quantification of dopaminergic neuronal death in Parkinson’s disease, in collaboration with Yves Agid. Daniel Scherman’s main discoveries relate to gene therapy, which consists of directly transferring a gene into a cell or tissue and applying this technology in biology and medicine. This has led to the therapeutic use of DNA “minicircles” and to clinical developments concerning genetic vaccination and the treatment of diseases such as uveitis or age-related macular degeneration, thanks to the local production and of therapeutic proteins in the ocular sphere