Committees > Presidium

Legal Organs

Scientific Committees

President : March 2020 - March 2023 *

Professor Rodrigo Martins - Portugal


Rodrigo Ferrão de Paiva Martins is Full Professor of the Materials Science Department at ‍NOVA School of Science and Technology | FCT NOVA, Director of the Centre of Excellence in Microelectronics and Optoelectronics Processes of the Institute of New Technologies, CEMOP/Uninova; Director of the Center of the Institute for Nanostructures, Nanomodeling and Nanofabrication, CENIMAT/i3N; Chair of The European Committee Affairs of European Materials Research Society; Chair of The Global Leadership and Service Award Committee and Past President of the International Union of Materials Research Societies, IUMRS; member of the Portuguese Academy of Engineering and of the Portuguese Order of Engineers; Chair of the BMC Materials series from Springer nature group.

*Extension of the mandate until March 2024 approved

Vice-President : March 2018 - March 2023*

Prof. Alain Tressaud - France


Alain Tressaud is Emeritus Research Director of the CNRS at Bordeaux (France). He is member of several Academies and Societies: EASA, Austria; WSSET, UK; Disting. Fellow SCF, France. He founded and chaired until 2008 the French Network on Fluorine Chemistry, sponsored by CNRS. He received several awards, including the Atomic Centre Agency Award of French Academy of Sciences (2008), Fluorine Award of the American Chemical Society (2011), and International Henri Moissan Prize (2013). His major research fields are Solid State Chemistry & Materials Science, Fluorine chemistry, and Modification of the surface properties of materials. His scientific production includes more than 370 papers in international journals, 20 chapter’s contributions in books and 12 internationalized patents. In addition, he edited 10 books, including the book “Fluorine , a Paradoxical Element” (2019) and the Editorship of the book series: “Advances in Fluorine Science” (2006) and “Progress in Fluorine Science” (2015-) at Elsevier. The Proceedings of the EurASc Ceremony held in Brussels in 2016 have appeared in the book “Progress in Science, Progress in Society”, edited in 2018 at Springer-Nature.

*Extension of the mandate until March 2024 approved

Perpetual Secretary : March 2014

Prof. Hélène de Rode - Belgium


Prof. H. de Rode graduated University of Louvain, where she became professor of law in 1993 till 2003. She published numerous papers and gave invited talks in international meetings and symposia. She also practices law and is a partner of her law firm Actium-Law. She is a member of the Liege Bar Association. She oversees for the Academy programmes related to Law Sciences. Since 2009, she is professor at the UCL Mons.

Member : March 2017 - March 2023*

Prof. Tommaso Calarco - Germany


Tommaso Calarco (1969, Rovereto, Italy), received his M.Sc in Physics at the University of Padua (1994). After obtaining his Ph.D at the University of Ferrara (1998), he started to work as a postdoc in the group of P. Zoller at the University of Innsbruck. After this period, he obtained a postdoc position at the ECT* Centre in Trento (2002), and was appointed as a tenured Senior Researcher at the BEC Centre in Trento (2004). Professor of Physics at the University of Ulm since 2007 (tenured 2009), he is currently the Director of the Institute for Quantum Control of the Peter Grünberg Institute at Forschungszentrum Jülich. He has authored more than 100 publications in refereed journals , and delivered more than 100 invited talks. He has authored the Quantum Manifesto (2016), that initiated the European Commission’s Quantum Flagship initiative, being currently the Chairman of its Quantum Community Network governance body.

*Extension of the mandate until March 2024 approved

Member : March 2019 - March 2024

Prof. Natividad Carpintero-Santamaria - Spain


Natividad Carpintero-Santamaría is Full Professor at the Department of Energy Engineering at the Polytechnic University of Madrid (UPM) and General Secretary of the Institute of Nuclear Fusion (UPM). She has lectured in several countries: Armenia, Australia, European Union, Jordan, Latin America, Russian Federation, Turkey and the United States. She authored the book The Atom Bomb: The Human Factor during Second World War (Díaz de Santos, 2007) and co-edited, together with Guillermo Velarde, the book Inertial Confinement Nuclear Fusion: A Historical Approach by its Pioneers (Foxwell & Davies, 2007) considered as recommended reading by the EUROfusion Consortium of the European Commission. She has published several papers and chapters of books in Springer, Cambridge Scholars, Routledge, Elsevier, etc. Natividad Carpintero-Santamaría is member of the Commission for Energy and Security and Defense of the Centre for National Defence Studies (CESEDEN) and member of the General Council of EuroDefense-Spain. In 1991 she received the Alfonso XIII Prize of History of Applied Science awarded by the Spanish Academy of Sciences. She has been granted the Cross of Aeronautical Merit (White distinction) (2011) and the Cross of Military Merit (White distinction) (2015).

Member : March 2019 - March 2024

Prof. Richard Durst - United States


Richard A. Durst is Professor Emeritus of Chemistry at Cornell University. He received the B.S. degree with highest honors in chemistry in 1960 from the University of Rhode Island and a Ph.D. in analytical chemistry, with a minor in biophysics, in 1963 from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He joined the U.S. National Bureau of Standards (NBS, now NIST) in 1966 where he served as Chief of the Electrochemical Analysis Section and Deputy Director of the Center for Analytical Chemistry. He received the Bronze and Silver Medals for Superior and Meritorious Federal Service, respectively, and was inducted into the NBS/NIST Portrait Gallery of Distinguished Scientists in 2009. In1990, he joined the faculty of Cornell University. He is the author/coauthor of over 260 technical articles, book chapters and edited two books. In 2002, Dr. Durst was elected a Fellow of both the International Union of Pure & Applied Chemistry and the European Academy of Sciences.

Member : March 2019 - March 2024

Prof. Emmanuel G. Floratos - Greece


Prof. Emmanuel Floratos is a renowned scientist who made influential contributions to physics and mathematics. He was awarded the Blaise Pascal Medal for his contributions to physics and fundamental research in finite quantum mechanics.

Member : March 2019 - March 2024

Prof. Paul Tréguer - France


Paul Tréguer is Emeritus Professor of the Université de Bretagne Occidentale (Brest, France). He is, in particular, the founder of the European Institute for Marine Studies and of the Europôle Mer, and directed EUR-OCEANS, the European Network of Excellence on the impacts of global change on the marine ecosystems. His major research fields are chemical oceanography and marine biogeochemistry, with a focus on polar oceans and coastal waters of Europe. Paul Tréguer received, in 2013, the Georges Millot medal (sciences of universe) of the French Academy of Sciences. In 2016, he was elected fellow of the American Geophysical Union (AGU) and of the Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography (ASLO)