Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier – 2023 Physics Nobel Prize laureates

The European Academy of Sciences is thrilled to share that two of its members, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier, have been named among the 2023 Nobel Laureates in Physics for their groundbreaking work in generating attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter. 

Additionally, Pierre Agostini was also honored for his contributions to this field. 

We are proud to have such innovative and accomplished individuals among our membership. 

Congratulations to all three on this well-deserved recognition!

(text by The Nobel Prize) 

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physics to Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier “for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter.”
The 2023 Nobel Prize laureates in physics are being recognised for their experiments, which have given humanity new tools for exploring the world of electrons inside atoms and molecules. Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier have demonstrated a way to create extremely short pulses of light that can be used to measure the rapid processes in which electrons move or change energy.
The laureates’ contributions have enabled the investigation of processes that are so rapid they were previously impossible to follow.
There are potential applications in many different areas. In electronics, for example, it is important to understand and control how electrons behave in a material. Attosecond pulses can also be used to identify different molecules, such as in medical diagnostics.

Learn more
Press release: https://bit.ly/456b9ni
Popular information: https://bit.ly/462K1qV
Advanced information: https://bit.ly/3t6TZc2