Paul Raithby
Paul Raithby

Year of Election



Country/Region of working/living





Chemistry Division


United Kingdom


University of Bath

Paul Raithby is an Emeritus Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Bath. He obtained his B Sc (1973) and Ph D (1976) from Queen Mary College, University of London, working for his Ph D in structural inorganic chemistry under the supervision of Professor Mike Hursthouse. He held a professorship at the University of Bath (2000-2021), prior to which he was a faculty member of the Department of at the University of Cambridge for 25 years. In Cambridge he worked with Professor the Lord Lewis and Professor Brian Johnson FRS on the chemistry of transition metal cluster compounds and on the organometallic chemistry of platinum acetylide complexes. At the University of Bath Raithby has developed research interests that span aspects of chemical crystallography, including time-resolved crystallography, structural coordination chemistry and organometallic polymer characterisation. Raithby was awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Corday Morgan Medal and Prize (1988) and the RSC Prize for Structural Chemistry (2008). He has over 850 publications and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC) and was President of the British Crystallographic Association (2006-2009). He was an EPSRC Senior Research Fellow (2006-2011) and sat on the EPSRC Strategic Advisory Network (2011-2016). He is one of the three main editors for Acta Crystallographica, Section C, and has served on the editorial boards of a number of RSC and Royal Society journals: Molecular Systems & Design Engineering (2017 - date), Philosophical Transactions A (Royal Society) (2017 -date), New Journal of Chemistry (2001-2006), Chemical Communications (1997-2000), Dalton Transactions (1992-1996). He is Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (2016-2018). He has been senior investigator on a number of large grants including the EPSRC sponsored Dynamic Structural Science Consortium (2011-2016) and the EPSRC Programme Grant in Functional Materials (2012-2018). Between 2010-2017 he was the PI of the EPSRC Grand Challenge Network entitled “Directed Assembly of Extended Structures with Targeted Properties”.