José Antonio Carrillo de la Plata is awarded the Echegaray Medal 2022

The concession has been agreed in the plenary session of the Corporation in December 2022. Thus, the institution grants José Antonio Carrillo this recognition, which is awarded every two years and is the oldest scientific award recognized in Spain.

The proposal for the award highlights the quality of Professor Carrillo’s scientific work in pure mathematics, ranging from Partial Differential Equations and related fields to various branches of applied science. His research has led him to obtain several important awards. The awarding of this medal responds to the fact that José Antonio Carrillo is already a world reference in his fields of study, with great presence in events or congresses, such as the International Conference for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM) 2023, held worldwide, and in European institutions (European Mathemathics Society, European Academy of Sciences, Section Mathematics).

José Antonio Carrillo de la Plata was recently appointed Foreign Academician of the Corporation. He received his PhD from the University of Granada in 1996 and has developed his career in the field of differential equations of physics, in particular in nonlinear diffusion equations, kinetic equations and calculus of variations. His remarkable mastery of novel and delicate techniques of analysis, motivated by physics and probabilities, stands out. Since 2004, he has been successively ICREA Professor in Barcelona and since 2012 he was Professor at Imperial College London until 2020. In recent years, his contributions have been fundamental in fields such as mathematical biology, in its theoretical and computational aspects. These works and his growing international renown, as well as his extensive doctoral teaching, have promoted him to the chair of the Mathematical Institute of the University of Oxford in the United Kingdom, in 2020.

The Echegaray Medal (Spanish: La Medalla Echegaray) is the highest scientific award granted by the Spanish Royal Academy of Sciences. The award was created at the request of Santiago Ramón y Cajal after the award of the Nobel Prize to José Echegaray and is awarded in recognition of an exceptional scientific career. The first time it was granted was in 1907 to José Echegaray. The first woman to be awarded was Margarita Salas in 2016, more than a hundred years after the award was created.

The Corporation recognizes an eminent research career or a scientific contribution of special relevance.

For more information about the :

The information about this prize :

Text : RAC